Search
Main Menu
Invite a Friend
Who's Online
2 user(s) are online (2 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 2

more...
FpML Forum Index
   FpML Version 5.0 (Closed for Posting)
     FPML 5.0 and FPML4.6
Register To Post

Threaded | Newest First Previous Topic | Next Topic | Bottom
Poster Thread
kamalken
Posted on: 2011/3/21 15:33
Just popping in
Joined: 2011/3/17
From:
Posts: 2
FPML 5.0 and FPML4.6
Hi ,

I need to use both the FPML 5.0 and FPML 4.6.

Also I am using JAXB to get the Objects.

Since I am having two different objects (FPML 5.0 Trade and FPML 4.6 Trade), I am not able to write the common code in my application (even though both the trade objects has common elements).

Please help

Also, Please confirm whether i can validate the fpml 4.6 instance using the FPML 5.0 schema.
mgratacos
Posted on: 2011/3/25 10:46
Just can't stay away
Joined: 2007/9/13
From:
Posts: 106
Re: FPML 5.0 and FPML4.6
Hello,

I don't have a solution for you. The problem with code generators is that they are tightly coupled with the namespace so you'll need to duplicate the code.

No, an FpML 4.6 instance won't validate against an FpML 5.0 Schema. FpML 5.0 doesn't keep backward compatibility with previous 4.x versions. The product representations are very similar but still there, there are some differences between them.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Marc
kamalken
Posted on: 2011/3/29 18:53
Just popping in
Joined: 2011/3/17
From:
Posts: 2
Re: FPML 5.0 and FPML4.6
Thanks Marc
andrew
Posted on: 2011/4/6 18:39
Just popping in
Joined: 2007/10/3
From:
Posts: 8
Re: FPML 5.0 and FPML4.6
I've heard there is a way of using custom ClassLoader instances to support two conflicting Java type libraries in the same application at the same time. Although this would not help with having a common interface to both.

The big question is should you be using JAXB at all? Do you really need to marshal the FpML into a set of objects for the processing you will apply to them or would it be easier to work with them at the XML level.

The HandCoded Toolkit for FpML Processing supports all versions of FpML simultaneously using the same code because much of its processing is performed on the DOM structures.

Worth considering.
Threaded | Newest First Previous Topic | Next Topic |

Register To Post
 
''