Forums

FpML Discussion

General FpML Discussion Technical & Implementation Questions Need help in understanding FPML propeties.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jabraham

Hi All, I am new to FPML, I am implementing FPML in my exiting java application for a banking client. I ve went through the schema documents but don’t find some of the properties in FPML schema like tradeId, tradeStatus etc. I think these are common properties in all products and might be somewhere in static reference. I would appreciate if someone help me out and refer me some good tutorial or guide. Regards. Johan.

mgratacos
    Keymaster

Hi Johan, The tradeId is contained inside the tradeHeader structure. Take a look at section 2.7 of the spec where you’ll find a description of the main components (2.7.2 describes de trade). In terms of schema files, these main components are contained within the fpml-doc-4-x.xsd file. I’d also recommend to go through the xml examples. They’ll give you a picture of the whole skeleton of the messages. There isn’t a trade status element in FpML. The xsi:type attribute contains the type of document being sent but there isn’t a place to store the status. You’ll need to extend FpML if you require that. Hope this helps. -Marc

iqbalhyd
    Spectator